Our Panelists & Partners

“The Benefits—And Cost of Policing” brought together a wide range of stakeholders— heads of major policing departments, civil rights and advocacy leaders, prominent social scientists, current and former government officials, foundation representatives, and policing technology experts. We are extremely grateful to all our panelists, moderators and partners for their support in helping us put together this important conversation.



Jim Bueermann

Jim Bueermann is the president of the National Police Foundation. He previously served 33 years with the Redlands Police Department, including as chief of police from 1998 to 2011. Read more.

Ed Chung

Ed Chung is the vice president for Criminal Justice Reform at American Progress. Mr. Chung previously served as a senior adviser and special counsel at the U.S. Department of Justice. Read more.

Mark Cohen

Mark Cohen is the Justin Potter Professor of American Competitive Enterprise at Vanderbilt University. He previously served as VP for Research and Senior Fellow at Resources for the Future. Read more.


Ralph Clark

Ralph Clark is the President and Chief Executive Officer of ShotSpotter. He previously served as CEO of GuardianEdge Technologies Inc., and VP of Finance for Adaptec. Read more.

Scott Crouch

Scott Crouch is the founder and CEO of law enforcement technology startup Mark43, which specializes in designing programs to help police better fight crime.

Ron Davis

Ron Davis is a principle consultant at 21CP Solutions. He previously served as Director of the Office of Community Oriented Policing Services at the U.S. Department of Justice, and as Executive Director of President Obama's Task Force on 21st Century Policing. Read more.


Monique Dixon

Monique Dixon is Deputy Director of Policy and Senior Counsel at the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund. Ms. Dixon previously served as Director of the Criminal and Juvenile Justice Program of Open Society Institute of Baltimore. Read more.

Lynda Garcia

Lynda Garcia is the Policing Campaign Director at The Leadership Conference. Ms. Garcia previously served as a trial attorney in the Civil Rights Division of the U.S. Department of Justice. Read more.

Elizabeth Glazer

Elizabeth Glazer is the Director of the Mayor’s Office of Criminal Justice for New York City. She previously served as Secretary for Public Safety to New York Governor Cuomo, and at the United States Attorney's Office for the Southern District of New York. Read more.


Sharad Goel

Sharad Goal is an assistant professor of Management Science and Engineering at Stanford University, with courtesy appointments in computer science, sociology, and law. Mr. Goel is the founder and executive director of the Stanford Computational Policy Lab. Read more.

Mike Hagar

Mike Hagar is Deputy Chief of the Metropolitan Police Department in Nashville, Tennessee, where he has served since 1990. He holds a Doctor of Jurisprudence from the Nashville School of Law and is a licensed attorney and member of the Nashville and Tennessee Bar Associations. Read more.

Robert Haas

Commissioner (Ret.) Robert Haas is the former chief executive of the Cambridge Police Department. He previously served as the Massachusetts State Executive of Public Safety, as the state's Undersecretary of Law Enforcement and Homeland Security and as Chief of the Westwood (MA) Police Department. Read more.


Max Kapustin

Max Kapustin is the Research Director at the University of Chicago Urban Labs. He holds a Ph.D. in Economics from the University of Michigan, and his research focus includes crime, public policy, health, and labor economics. Read more.

Dahlia Lithwick

Dahlia Lithwick is an award winning journalist and senior editor at Slate. She is the recipient of the 2017 Golden Pen Award from the Legal Writing Institute and the 2013 National Magazine Award. She holds a Doctor of Jurisprudence from Stanford Law School. Read more.

Wesley Lowery

Wesley Lowery is a Pulitzer Prize-winning national correspondent for The Washington Post and an on-air contributor for CNN. His first book, "They Can't Kill Us All," was awarded the 2017 Christopher Isherwood prize for autobiographical prose. Read more.


Chris Magnus

Chris Magnus is the Chief of Police for the Tucson Police Department. He previously served 15 years in the Lansing Police Department, and as chief of police in Fargo, North Dakota and Richmond, California. Read more.

Harlan Yu

Harlan Yu is the Executive Director of Upturn. He has previously served at Google, the Electronic Frontier Foundation, and the U.S. Department of Labor. Mr. Yu holds a Ph.D. in computer science from Princeton University, and is non-resident fellow at Stanford Law School. Read more.



Barry Friedman

Barry Friedman is the Director of the Policing Project and the Jacob D. Fuchsberg Professor of Law and Affiliated Professor of Politics at NYU School of Law. Read more.

Anne Milgram

Anne Milgram is a Professor of Practice and Distinguished Scholar in Residence and a Senior Fellow at NYU School of Law. She previously served as Attorney General of New Jersey and Assistant District Attorney in the Manhattan District Attorney’s Office. Read more.

Maria Ponomarenko

Maria Ponomarenko is the Deputy Director of the Policing Project and a Furman Fellow at NYU School of Law. Read more.

Our Partners

We are grateful to the National Police Foundation for partnering with us in this event, and to the Laura and John Arnold Foundation for their generous support.